Executive Committee

ASCJ Executive Committee

 New members can be proposed at the Business Meeting held on the Sunday morning of the conference.  All registered participants are qualified to attend and to vote. Dates in brackets indicate the committee member’s last date of reelection.

Bruce Batten, Inter-University Center for Japanese Language Studies, Environmental History and Ancient Japan [June 30, 2019]

Tove Bjoerk, Saitama University, Early Modern Japanese Literature [June 30, 2019]

Christopher Bondy, International Christian University, Japanese Society, President [June 30, 2019]

Roger Brown, Saitama University, Modern Japanese History [June 30, 2019]

Mark E. Caprio,
 Rikkyo University, Korean History [June 30, 2019]

Edward Drott, Sophia University, Japanese Religions, Vice President [June 30, 2019]

Sandra Fahy, Sophia University, Korean Anthropology [June 30, 2019]

Robert Eskildsen, International Christian University, Japanese History, Treasurer [June 30, 2019]

Karl Friday, Saitama University, Japanese History, CoC Representative [June 30, 2019]

Curtis Gayle, Waseda University, Modern Japanese History [July 1, 2018]

Thomas Gill, Meiji Gakuin University, Social Anthropology [June 30, 2019]

Bettina Gramlich-Oka, Sophia University, Japanese History [June 30, 2019]

Christian Hess, Sophia University, Chinese History [June 30, 2019]

Hyangjin Lee, Rikkyo University, Asian Film Study [June 30, 2019]

Lisa Yinghong Li, J.F. Oberlin University, Chinese Literature [June 30, 2019]

Yoshie Moriki, International Christian University, Asian Anthropology [June 30, 2019]

Lindsay Morrison, Musashi University, [June 30, 2019]

Noriko Murai, Sophia University, Art History  [July 1, 2018]

Sven Saaler, Sophia University, Modern Japanese History [June 30, 2019]

Matthew Strecher, Sophia University, Japanese Literature [July 1, 2018]

Jae-Jung Suh, International Christian University,  International Relations [June 30, 2019]

Yusuke Tanaka, Meiji Gakuin University, Japanese Intellectual History, Books/Displays [June 30, 2019]

Alex Vesey, Meiji Gakuin University, Comparative Cultural History, Publicity/Web [July 1, 2018]

Michael Watson, Meiji Gakuin University, Japanese Literature [June 30, 2019]

Yamamoto Yoshitaka, National Institute of Japanese Literature, Edo Period Japanese Literature [June 30, 2019]